About us

Connecting Nature and People for a Sustainable Future

Trustees & governance

Nature Kenya overall governance rests with members. At the Annual General Meeting (AGM), members meet and elect the Executive Committee that oversees Society business at quarterly meetings. The Executive Director heads the Senior Management Team from units for Species and Sites, Advocacy, Local Empowerment, Membership, Programme Support and Finance.

Executive Committee in 2015-2016

Chairman: Dr Alan Carles

Vice-chairman: Dr Helida Oyieke

Hon. Treasurer: Mr Jim Birnie

Hon. Secretary: Ms Fleur Ng’weno

Hon. Librarian: Dr Debbie Nightingale

Hon. Editor: Dr Charles Warui

Member & Trustee: Ms Irene Njumbi

Member & Trustee: Ms Wakini Ndegwa

Member & Trustee: Dr Siro Masinde

Member: Dr Geoffrey Mwachala

Member: Mr Kuria Waithaka

Member: Dr Ian Gordon

Member: Mr Upin Vasani


Members Co-opted:

Dr Benny Bytebier

Dr Leon Bennun

Dr Darcy Ogada

Dr Evans Mwangi

Ms Heather Elkins


Management Team

Executive Director: Dr Paul Matiku

Species and Sites Manager: Mr Paul Gacheru

Advocacy Manager: Ms Serah Munguti

Membership Manager: Ms Gloria Waswa

Local Empowerment Manager:  Mr. Joel Siele

Programme Support Manager (Monitoring and evaluation and Administration): Ms Caroline Kabilu

Finance Manager: Mr Denvas Gekonde

Latest news

Golfers and businesses join to restore MT. KENYA FOREST

The 2017 “Lungs for Kenya” Charity Golf tournament took place...

“Their Future is Our Future” A healthy planet for migratory birds and people

All activities organized for World Migratory Bird Day (May 10)...

Improved Livelihoods for Biodiversity Conservation

The conservation agenda has existed for many years now, though...