NOMINEES STANDING FOR ELECTION

CHAIRMAN

Mr. Rupert Watson

Rupert Watson is a self-employed advocate of some 45 years standing in Kenya, specialising in private client and conservation work. He is also a mediator and writer. He has written two natural history books on trout and salmon and then in 2007 "The African Baobab" published by Struik in South Africa. His latest book "Peacocks and Picathartes - Reflections on African Birdlife" came out three years ago published by Struik as well. He is presently working on a second edition of The African Baobab, due out early next year. He is also a regular contributor to Swara and other natural history publications. Rupert has been Chairman of Nature Kenya for the past two vears.

HONORARY TREASURER

Mr. Ben Allen

Ben was born in Kenya and educated in Tanzania and Yorkshire, England. He read Agricultural Management at the University of Natal and went on to manage farms in Zimbabwe and Zambia before migrating to Western Australia with his wife Fiona. They lived in Perth for the next 24 years, building up a wholesale bakery business, bringing up two boys, and Ben did an MBA at Murdoch University. In December 2013 they moved back to Kenya when Ben was appointed Managing Director of Fairseat Foundation, a not-for-profit retirement community based in Rosslyn where Ben's mother and Fiona's parents are all resident. He has always been a keen amateur naturalist and wants to be able to give back to society and contribute where possible.

HONORARY LIBRARIAN

Dr. Dino J. Martins

Dino Martins is a Kenyan artist, naturalist and writer. Teaching people to see, understand and care about the details of the living world are central to his work and life. An entomologist and evolutionary biologist, he has authored the 'Insects of East Africa'. 'Butterflies of East Africa' (with S. Collins). 'Our Friends the Pollinators' and 'The Grasses of East Africa'. Dino Martins is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the Turkana Basin Institute. He served as the Executive Director of the Mpala Research Centre for seven years (2015-2022) and is a Research Scholar in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at Princeton University. He holds a PhD from Harvard University (2011), and a BA in Anthropology (with distinction) from Indiana University (1999). Dr. Martins' current scientific research is focused on the evolution and ecology of interactions between species. He is a coprincipal investigator of the Turkana Genome project. This project is pioneering the inclusion of African genomes and diversity in the wider picture of human adaptation and evolution.

MEMBER

Mr. Alex Duncanson

Alex Duncanson arrived in Kenya in 1996 for 3-6 months and never left! He has been a member of Nature Kenya for approximately 7 years and is also a member of the East African Wild Life Society, Kenya Museum Society, Caledonian Society of Kenya, East African Horticultural Society, AFEW (African Fund for Endangered Wildlife) and has been a member of the RSPB (Royal Society for Protection of Birds) for 50 years. He helped Mike Davidson with the Nature Kenya golf day and after Mike's return to UK, has helped to run the fund raiser for the past nine years. Alex started his

working life in Unilever and was employed by them and their offshoot Tibbett and Britten for 34 years. Since then he has been a consultant and project manager in the logistics field, working in such places as DR Congo and Sudan on United Nations related work, and in South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, and the Middle East as well as Kenya. He was a Director of Kenya Grange Vehicle Industries Ltd, the Scania distributor in most of East Africa before its takeover by Scania itself. He is currently a director of Wedco Ltd and a trustee of Wedco Trust, both involved in charitable work. He looks forward to contribute further to Nature Kenya.

MEMBER

Mr. James Kashangaki

James Kashangaki is a financial inclusion expert whose career has spanned 25 years in consulting, venture capital, merchant and investment banking, development project implementation and management working mostly in East and Southern Africa and USA. Mr Kashangaki has worked with the Financial Sector Deepening Trust (FSD Kenya) since 2006 in various positions, and where since 2019 he is now the Chief Operating Officer. Over the years, he has overseen successful implementation of interventions that have increased access and usage of appropriate finance for both households and smaller enterprises. He has served as a board member for a medium sized Micro Finance Company and is currently a board member of WEDCO Co Ltd and a Trustee of the WEDCO Charitable Trust. He is keenly interested in Kenyan birdlife and willing to continue applying his experience in making markets work for the poor (M4P) to nature conservation. greening livelihoods and sustainable tourism in the country. Mr. Kashangaki has a Master of Business

Administration (MBA) in Finance from the William E. Simon Business School, University of Rochester and a Master of Public Administration (MPA) from the School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA), Columbia University.

MEMBER

Ms. Angela Waki

Angela Waki joined Nature Kenya as a university student in the early 2000s and is a member of the Bird Committee Environmental Legislation and Policy Working Group (ELPWiG). She is a keen birder and general nature lover. Angela is an experienced lawyer. She spent her 15 years of active legal practice at Kaplan & Stratton Advocates and Coulson Harney (now known as Bowmans), before taking a break to pursue 'greener' interests. She now consults in the field of biodiversity law, and is currently a PhD candidate at the University of Nairobi. Her academic interests are in biodiversity mainstreaming, and the emerging field of behavioral jurisprudence as it relates to environmental rule of law. She is also interested in organic farming, people and culture, and is a member of the Kenya Museum Society.

Executive Committee members 2022/2023

- Mr. Rupert Watson Chairman, standing for re-election
- Dr. Helida Oyieke Vice Chair & Trustee, term ending 2025
- Mr James Birnie Hon Treasurer, retiring
- Ms. Fleur Ng'weno Hon Secretary, term ending 2024
- Dr. Charles Warui Hon Editor, term ending 2024
- Dr. Dino Martins Hon. Librarian, standing for re-election
- Dr. Siro Masinde member and Trustee, term ending 2024
- Ms. Irene Karani Njumbi member and Trustee, term ending 2025
- Mr. James Kashangaki member, standing for re-election
- Mr. Ben Allen member, Standing for election as Honorary Treasurer
- Mr. Kuria Waithaka member, term ending 2025
- Dr. Geoffrey Mwachala member, term ending 2024
- Mr. Alex Duncanson member, standing for re-election

Co-opted Members

- Ms. Heather Elkins
- Dr. Darcy Ogada
- Dr. Benny Bytebier
- Dr. Alan Carles
- Dr. Debbie Nightingale
- Dr. Ian Gordon



Biographies of Executive Committee members standing for election







Annual General Meeting Wednesday 3rd May 2023