

Biographies of Executive Committee Members Standing for Election

CHAIRMAN

Dr. lan Gordon

Ian Gordon came to Africa from Britain to work as a University Lecturer in 1971. Since then he has taught at five African Universities in Ghana, Zimbabwe and Kenya. From 1993 to 1998 he founded and ran the community-based butterfly farming project Kipepeo at Arabuko-Sokoke Forest. From 1998-2002, he co-ordinated the EU-funded BirdLife International Arabuko-Sokoke Forest Conservation and Management Project. He then joined the International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology as Head of the Environmental Health Division. From 2002 to 2010, he served as the Chairman of Nature Kenya, and has been a Member of the Executive Committee since 2014. He left ICIPE in 2010 and rejoined BirdLife as a Programme Advisor. Dr Gordon has led on the production of three regional conservation strategies: Critical Ecosystems Partnership Fund (CEPF) Ecosystem Profiles for the Eastern Arc and Coastal Forests of Tanzania and Kenya and for the Eastern Afromontane Biodiversity Hotspots, and a MacArthur Foundation-funded Strategy for the African Great Lakes Region. More recently he assisted the JRS Foundation to develop a strategy for supporting Pollination research in Africa. He was reelected as the Chairman of Nature Kenya in 2017.

HONORARY LIBRARIAN

Dr. Dino J. Martins

Dino J. Martins is a Kenyan entomologist and evolutionary biologist, and is the Executive Director of the Mpala Research Centre and a Research Scholar and Lecturer with Princeton University. He holds a PhD in Biology from Harvard University (2011), and a BA in Anthropology from Indiana University (1999). He works at the intersection of biodiversity, livelihoods, health and sustainable development with small-scale farmers and pastoralists across the Greater Horn of Africa region. In 2015 he won the Whitley Gold Award for his work with farmers and biodiversity conservation, and is one of National Geographic's Emerging Explorers. He is an honorary life member of the Kenya Horticultural Society and Chair of the Insect Committee of Nature Kenya.

MEMBER

Mr. Rupert Watson

Rupert Watson is a self-employed advocate of some 40 years standing in Kenya, specialising in private client and conservation work. He is also a mediator and writer. He has written two natural history books on trout and salmon and more recently "The African Baobab" published by Struik in South Africa. His latest book, "Peacocks and Picathartes - Reflections on African Birdlife" has just been published by Struik. He is also a regular contributor to *Swara* and other natural history publications.

MEMBER

Mr. James Kashangaki

James Kashangaki is a financial inclusion expert whose career has spanned 25 years in consulting, venture capital, merchant and investment banking, project implementation and management, working mostly in Eastern and Southern Africa and USA. In his current role since 2006 as the Head of Inclusive Growth at Financial Sector Deepening (FSD Kenya), he has overseen successful implementation of projects that have increased formal financial inclusion for small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs). He has served as a board member for a medium sized MicroFinance Company and is currently a board member of WEDCO Co Ltd and a Trustee of the WEDCO Charitable Trust. He is keenly interested in Kenyan birdlife and willing to offer his experience in making markets work for the poor (M4P) to nature conservation and sustainable tourism in the country. Mr. Kashangaki has a Master of Business Administration (MBA) in Finance from the William E. Simon Business School, University of Rochester, and a Master of Public Administration (MPA) from the School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA), Columbia University.



Executive Committee Members

- Dr. Ian Gordon Chairman, Standing for re-election
- Dr. Helida Oyieke Vice Chair & Trustee, term ending 2022
- Mr. Upin Vasani Hon Treasurer, term ending 2022
- Ms. Fleur Ng'weno Hon Secretary, term ending 2021
- Dr. Charles Warui Hon Editor, term ending 2021
- Dr. Dino Martins Hon. Librarian, Standing for re-election
- Dr. Siro Masinde member and Trustee, term ending 2021
- Ms. Irene Karani Njumbi member and Trustee, term ending 2022
- Mr. James Kashangaki member, Standing for re-election
- Mr. Ben Allen member, term ending 2022
- Mr. Rupert Watson member, Standing for re-election
- Mr. Kuria Waithaka member, term ending 2022
- Dr Geoffrey Mwachala member, term ending 2021

Co-opted Members 2019-2020

- Ms. Heather Elkins
- Dr. Darcy Ogada
- Dr. Benny Bytebier
- Mr. Jim Birnie
- Dr. Debbie Nightingale
- Dr. Alan Carles